The Masque

For some reason, I felt compelled to make myself a costume for Halloween this year. Never mind that I haven’t dressed for the day in more than a decade  – this year it was a must-do. Due to the fact that free time is a bit thin on the ground around here right now, I knew it would have to be something quick and easy, while still satisfying that powerful urge to MAKE SOMETHING that was kicking me in the ass. A mask seemed just the thing …

mask back

Originally, the idea was to use only materials I already had on hand. I had some white plastic mask forms left over from a Mardi Gras project I did a couple of years ago, which I covered with a scrap of some luscious black silk velvet I had hanging around. I mod-podged the fabric down, let it dry overnight, then trimmed it and cut out the eyeholes.

I knew I wanted to use feathers somehow, but my stash was pretty low, so I took a trip to Michaels, where I vowed that I would buy a peacock feather and nothing more.

supplies

I came home with the feather, turquoise sequins, bronze glitter glue, blue satin ribbon, and plastic gems worthy of any three-year-old’s princess crown. I had no idea where I was going with any of it.
mask

A day or two later, this is what I had. So far, so good. This, however, is where the project started getting a bit more elaborate. It needed … more … stuff …

mask

The beaded trim was a nice touch, but I still wasn’t satisfied. “MORE!”

Ah, NOW we’re getting somewhere! But … no, it’s still not enough …

Then, on an entirely unrelated trip to one of those Halloween flash stores that mushroom every October, I found these …

I got weak in the knees.

eyelashes

mask

Just one last little touch and I was done …

mask finished

I think a simple black dress, some bright blue lipstick, and I’m good. Whaddya think?

Happy Halloween!

Leave a comment